A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that increased consumption of Salicylates will result in fewer headaches by residents of Mentia in the future, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for a decline in headaches based on Salicylates intake. It is easy to understand why residents of Mentia would want Salicylates, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to an increased intake of Salicylates.

Citing the twenty-year study, the author reports that there was a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the survey. For example, the survey did not state if the respondents were in a controlled environment, that is, away from anything that might have further influenced the decline of their headaches other than their consumption of Salicylates. Also, the previous conditions of the study participants were not clearly stated. It could be that the respondents used, only had very slight or no headaches before the commencement of the study. Hence, only when we know that the study participants were controlled throughout the period of the study and the respondents picked are those with relatively wide ranges of headaches that the prediction will be strengthened.

In line with understanding the scope and validity of the survey, it is as well crucial to know the body, group, or organization that carried out the research, in order to ascertain their reliability. The importance of Knowing how reliable a study group is cannot be overemphasized. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back the scientist's prediction.

Finally, It is important to know what the possible side effects of consuming a large number of Salicylates will be to the body. It is very likely that as we consume large amounts of Salicylates, and it tends to calm down the headaches, it is, in turn, damaging another organ in the body. The study, however, did not state the possible side effects of Salicylates on the body, and until this is known can the prediction be valid. This will enable the residents of Mentia to make a more rational decision on whether to take in Salicylates to stop headaches and later face a bigger health issue or look for other solutions with lesser side effects.

It is certain that being free from headaches will help reduce the suffering of the residents of Mentia. For this reason, the intake of Salicylates is reasonable. However, the argument does not account for the possible dangers of taking Salicylates in large quantities.