"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving h

The manager's advice for WWAC radio station to switch from rock-music format to news and talk programs to gain more audiences seems quite reasonable and effective at first glance, but actially, more evidences are needed to fully evaluate the validation of the argument.

To begin with, the author contends that the radio station witnessed a decline in the number of listeners inspite of the population growth in the listening area, and thus proposed attracting newly moved in residents are of vital importance. However, this argument is not strong enough as we do not know how many retired people actually moved in and is the number larger or smaller than audiences WWAC lost. More specific figures are needed to evaluate this suggestion. For example, if only a small number of people moved in compared to the great decline in audience number, it would be ineffective to change program type to save WWAC radio station.

Secondly, the manager bridged a drop in sales of recorded music with the declined interest in music as a whole, which is absolutely not convincing. With the rapid and swift advancement of technology, more and more various formats of music are provided for people. For instances, many music lovers prefer to download music from the Internet instead of buying a recorded CD. Based on this, maybe a survey about residents' fond of music would better weaken or strengthen this argument, but currently, the connection is too weak.

Last but not least, more evidence should be provided to support that news and talk program is indeed more popular that music format. Maybe it is better than rock-music format, but no investigation is provided to assess if other types of music, like Jazz or Classical music, is also not welcomed. So the managers' advice of changing from music type program to talk format may not be as useful as it was thought.

In conclusion, depending on the evidence we find to fill out, we may discover if the manager of WWAC radio station presented convicing and effective suggestions in the article, or if another decision should be made.