"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The argument that the Buckingham College should build new dormitories is flawed because of numerous assumptions that the argument fails to state.

In the first place, the argument refers to a trend that believes the enrollment to double within 50 years but fails to mention how much dependable the trend is. 50 years is a huge period of time within which the rate of increase of students may get saturated or even the number may start decreasing. It is not mentioned on what basis this trend is designed and it follows what statistics. The conclusion could have been supported if the passage had described about the reports on which the trends are made and how these trends will remain true even after such a long time.

Furthermore, the passage mentions about a hike in the average rent for apartment outside the campus. But this does not necessarily mean that the off-campus rooms won’t be affordable for the students. How many years is meant by the term “recent years” and how much change has been there in the economic condition of the students within these years? And will the college be able to provide dormitories in a much affordable cost compared to the hike in rent? The argument might have been more strengthened if the passage had mentioned all these data in numbers. Even then, there would have been a query if the students would like to prefer an in-campus dormitory in place of an out-campus room.

Finally, the passage also says that new dormitories will attract more students to enroll at Buckingham. This arises a question if the students are going to be attracted just by the new dormitories. Being students, they might pay more attention on the academic qualities and research facilities of the college rather than just evaluating on the basis of lodging facilities. Moreover, does the college need more number of students to enroll for it? This would have been more applicable if the college had been planning for a promotional campaign to attract students to join Buckingham. The information provided for this cause is inadequate to support the fact the Buckingham needs to build new dormitories.

In conclusion, the arguments has failed to state numerous assumption that would have been required to support the conclusion that the Buckingham college needs to plan for new residential for students.