In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above statement suggests that the first study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh is flawed. To support the argument, the author cites the second study conducted by the same researchers. However, more information is needed to better support the claim.

To begin with, an evidence that the first and second studies were conducted under same conditions is required. Responses can change depending on different time periods and different methods of study. It is only mentioned that the first and second study are exerted by the same researchers; other factors of both studies are not stated. For more effective evaluation of both studies, more information regarding time, type of respondents, and means of both studies is needed.

Second, the author should provide evidence that data of checked out books can represent the general interest of Waymarch citizens. To substantiate the assertion, the author indicates the data that shows the mystery novel is the most frequently checked out books of the public libraries in Waymarsh. Nevertheless, the author neglects the possibility that people of Waymarsh might actually purchase literary classics to keep them and borrow mystery novels temporarily. If such is the case, it is evident that people of Waymarsh prefer literary classics over mystery novels. Therefore, the author has to more proofs that book check-out results from the public libraries accurately reflect the actual preference of the entire Waymarch citizens.

Moreover, even if the check-out trend of the public libraries of Waymarsh represent the general interest of the citizens, the author needs to show more evidence regarding the data of the representativeness of those public libraries. If there are more private libraries in town that are not considered, and if check-out results from those libraries alter the entire frequency results, then the author's claim will become logically flawed. Thus, it is crucial for the author to give more information that demontrates the trend of the entire libraries to precisely measure reading habits of Waymarsh citizens.

In sum, without providing aforementioned evidences, the author's argument will remain gratuitous. To strengthen the assertion, there needs information about conditions of the first and second studies, if there is no other variables that can reflect Waymarsh citizens' reading habits, and the representativeness of results of the public libraries of Waymarsh.