Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

Like many other production company, Super Screen suffered from lower number of viewers last year. To find the answer to this problem, the advertising director prepared a memo with an recommendation. While the memo presents an interesting recommendation for reaching the public, it contains some logical flaws in its assumptions and reasonings.

Firstly, the author states that, during past year fewer people attended SS produced movies than other years based on a report. But it does not quatify the decrease in moviegoers and revenue earned from the movies. The economic condition might be challenging last year, where people had less money to spend on movies overall. As a result, the number of moviegoers would decrease. Also, is the average ticket prices in the cinema halls same as other years? If the cinema theater owners decided to increase the price the number of viewers would drop. The author needs to address these questions to strengthen his position on developing the recommendation.

However, if we consider that the number of viewers of SS produced movies has decreased where all other conditions were same, another flaw in the reasoning of the author comes into play. The percentage of positive reviews has increased during the past year which indicates that the content of the movies are not source of the problem. The passage doesn't specify by how much the number of positive reviews has increased and actually what percentage of the viewers submit a review. It may be the case that the number of reviewers is a very small portion and it doesn't properly reflect the majority of the viewers. In that case, the argument that the contents of the movies are not problematic is invalid.

Finally, the author suggests that the best course of action for SS would be to allocate greater share of budget for marketing. As we established in the previous section that, there might be some problems with the contents of the movie, this solution would not bring any fruitful result. Then the SS movie production company would be better of spending money to improve the content of the movie instead of spending in marketing. Even if there is no problem with the contents of the movie, there are some other issues. Greater budget in marketing doesn't necessarily result in better marketing policy and reaching to public in a positive way. What if, SS production needs to include more star performers in their movie? It might be more effective in increasing viewers that mentioned strategy. This ananlysis must be done thoroughly and included in the memo for strengthening the recommendation.

The SS movie production company needs to evaluate the recommendation by analysing the above mentioned points.