SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that Supercorp has made the best decision to move its headquarters from Middleburg to Corporateville due to a variety of reasons: Corporateville has recently had an increase in the number of homeowners, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middleburg and finally according to a survey, Supercorp's employees prefer a less urban setting to live in, which - in this case - happens to be Corporateville. The argument, however, is based on assumptions that are lacking evidence and thus the author's argument to move Supercorp's headquarters to Corporateville is unwarranted.

First and foremost, the author states that there has been an increase in the number of homeowners in Corporateville thus assuming that Corporateville is a more superior place to live than Middleburg. However, the author fails to provided adequate statistics to compare the two areas. How many homeowners are there currently in Middleburg compared to Corporateville? Could it be that even with the current surge in Corporateville, the number of homeowners still remain greater in Middleburg? The housing market is dependent on a number of different factors such as supply and demand. Perhaps the demand for housing is so high in Middleburg that many people would like to live there but because the prices are too high (due to an increase in demand), many people are forced to buy homes in Corporateville instead. Further investigation and evidence is needed before the author can assume that a surge in homeowners in Corporateville is due to its superiority over Middleburg.

Second, the survey cited by the author stated that its employee prefer to live in a less urban setting. However there is no evidence to support the direct correlation between wanting to live in a less urban setting and wanting to work in a less urban setting. There is a difference between the two, and the author fails to provide this correlation. What if the employees do in fact want to live in a less urban setting but actually prefer to work in a urban setting as it grants them access to more services during and after work. For example, what if the employees run errands during their lunch break, or get together after work hours due to the ease of access to services in the urban area. A more cogent and precise survey with specific questions of preference for work is needed to establish the employees' needs before an assumption can be made.

Last, the author assumes that the lower taxes in Corporateville automatically deems it a safer place to live. However, there is no evidence to suggest that there is a direct correlation between lower taxes and lower crime rates. Statistics on crime rates should be provided from both Corporateville and Middleburg before a statement can be made.

In conclusion, the author makes an argument that is based on assumptions that are lacking further details. In order to make his/her case stronger, further investigation and evidence needs to be provided.