The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

The argument that vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country recommend hiring Appaian roadways to construct the access roads for all new shopping malls sound illogical convincing for several reasons.

Firstly, the author says that The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes.This may not be wise to compare the road surface to two areas as it will mainly be depend upon the surroundings and usability of roads.May be route 101 road is highly used by trucks and other heavy vehicles as it may be near industrial area where as route 40 may be located in quite area which is less populated and that road is not getting used by cars and other vehicles.

Secondly,author mentions that Appian Roadways purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery for continuing to their quality commitment does not mean that construction of roads will last for four years.Author forgot to mention the specifications of machine.May be Good Intentions roadways also have this machinary.So it will not be correct to relate the duration of road endure to machinary. And also by hiring quality control manager by appaian roadways may improve the quality of road but there is no guarantee that road will last for four years. Also author didnt provide any education details of quality manager, may be he is good at managerial skills but not proficient at technical details which will not help in quality of road construction.

Additionally, due to lack of proper evidences that support that roadways to construct the access roads for all new shopping malls by apian will not have to be repaired for at least four years. It will not be wise to predict for the coming next 4 years as it will also be depend upon population and people travelling through them.The author should have taken other key factors into account and render strong evidence for his argument.