In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's conclusion that, as the water sports are one of the favorite recreational activities, the city government should devote more money in this year's budget is flawed. In the argument, the author assumes that the most important part of the government's budget is to support people's desires for recreational activities rather than the actual need for doing so. Furthermore, the author doesn't consider the fact that the complaint for the river's water quality and smell doesn't directly mean as an indicator of the decrease in the water sports as I list them out below.

To begin, the report points out that as the river, apart from being used for recreational activities, is rarely used for other activities. It also states that the city government devotes a little budget for maintaining it. In doing so, the author is assuming that these two facts have direct connection as evident in the conclusion. This makes the scenario ill-stated. The complaints for cleaning up of the river may not only for the recreational activities but also, for the health hazards it brings. The city government hence has to clean up the river to avoid its consequences. Cleaning up of a large water body reservoir doesn't have to be every year, and hence need not have to be an integral part of the budget.

Additionally, the increment of the money being devoted to riverside activities ignores many other areas in which the

city has to look through. The fact that recreation comes in the end of all basic requirement of necessities is an testimony to this fact. Without knowing the total budget, its allocations, constraints as well as other internal factors of the city, such an demand to increase in money for recreational attributes doesn't seem fit. What can be done is that the people who regularly visit the river for such activities should form a core committee and meet the government representative with their requirements. They should discuss the requirements of cleaning up of the river and how much cost the city can endure without deviating from the other basic requirements. The need of the hour is to first address the more intense requirements of the city rather than adressing the issue of a handful of people in the city.

I believe the issue of cleaning up the Mason river is required more, not for the recreational activities, rather than the health hazards it can cause if ignored. The city residents who play the water sports regularly can form a volunteering club for the helping the city government in cleaning up the river with financial help from the government as well as their own fund. Not only will this, make the river clean for the sports played, it will not put any significant dent in the city's budget for the year. This can also develop part time jobs for the locals and hence serve a larger purpose.

The argument hence can be further strengthened by the fact that how grave the dangers are to the health of the residents because of the sport water of the river. It can be further bolstered by pointing the employment it can generate if some

people are employed for maintaining the cleanliness of the river. As it stands, however, the argument of allocating more funds for the river for recreational activities is flawed.