"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument author wants to convert the residential areas to industrial development sighting the success of the urban renewal program adopted 10 years ago.

In order to strengthen the argument it is necessary to evaluate the reason for the success of urban renewal program and its relation to the housing property. If relationship cannot be established then adding more residential area as a part of program cannot be justified. If the relationship is established, it is important to determine if other residential areas that are to be included in the program has same properties as that of the previously occupied housing area which were used by the renewal program ten years ago. This can decide the faith of the renewal program.

Author needs to make sure about detailing the side effect of the industries and factory constructed in last ten years. Factories are known for pollution, excreting waste products, contamination of water, etc. It is important to undermine measures taken by the current urban renewal program either to eliminate or minimize the side effect. This can be pivotal point that can strengthen or weaken the argument.

Detailing the current financial condition and need to further revitalize the city can justify the extension of the program. If city is already prosperous it may be difficult to comprehend the extension of the urban renewal program as they are planning to include more residential area which is already occupied and may led to outrage among the people of city. It is important to highlight the benefit of the program to the resident and the city enabling resident to take the movement decision.

Author needs to delineate on the alternative housing that would be provided to the displaced home owners. It is necessary to explicitly specify if the alternative housing if not better than at least comparable to their existing house so that resident willingly move. If not specified the argument may hold weak as resident may not vacant their house, leading to failure of the urban renewal program.

To conclude, expounding on success factor of current comprehensive urban renewal program, environment friendliness of the factories setup, suitability of the proposed residential area and benefit to city and resident can strengthen or weaken the argument.