Title: Super Screen Movies

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director concluded that the advertising budget should be increased next year in order to recover the number of movie viewers, based on the problematic evidence of reports which indicate the reducing number of movie viewers but the increasing number of positive movie reviewers last year. To say that people are unaware of good quality movies due to the insufficient fund of advertising is therefore questionable.

Firstly, it is presented that the number of reviewer in specific movies has increased during last year, in spite of the decreasing number of total movie viewers. The director of advertisement then summarized that this phenomena is caused by the public’s unawareness of good quality films, implying the lack of advertising. However, the growing number of positive reviews in some specific movies does not represent that all the other Super Screen-produced movies are satisfying; their qualities may be so poor that all the posts on internet about them are negative, resulting the lessened number of movie viewers. Therefore, it is questionable that the reducing number of spectators is directly related to the insufficient advertising.

Even though all the movies last year exhibit good qualities, the definition of “enough viewers” is not shown in the memo. The number of it, for instance, the average of positive reviewers in the last decades, should be listed as a comparison so that the readers, which may be the managers of the movie company, can be more convinced. Moreover, the report must clearly show that the positive reviewers are indeed less than the average one, otherwise it would be considered as an attempt to increase the budget by masking the real report and confounding the decision of budget approval.

To sum up, the relation between the reducing number of viewers and the exposure of advertising, and the average number of positive movie reviewers should be indicated, so that the suggestion by the advertising director is more persuasive and reasonable.