Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The author's proposal that the observation centred approach is invalid and interview-centred method will be much more accurate is debatable. According to the article the observations made by Dr.field states that the children from Tertia were reared by the entire village rather than their biological parents. This statement didn't include any details about the children's perspective of their biological parents or their tradition. Thus leaving more room for further inquisition regarding the culture in Tertia.

However with the evident fact that the observations weren't focusing on children's perspective of the cultural upbringing, Dr.Karp strongly disagrees with the statement that is not included in his peer's research.

Dr. Karp has also stated that children spend much more time thinking about their biological parents. This doesn't necessarily defy the fact supporting the former research about the upbringing of the children by the entire village. Thus, Dr. Karp's statements leaves an ambiguous space about what he is exactly disagreeing with his peer.

From his interview perspective, Dr. Karp has only recorded the views of the children but has failed to record the actual cultural practices in Tertia from outside. This strongly suggests that one cannot completely dispose the observation-centred approach of anthropology.

Also, The fact that the author has discarded a famous approach of study based on one case study from a research that is 2 decades old is highly arguable. There are numerous factors that can contribute to the cultural practices. Adopting to only one kind of approach based on weak facts is naive and unwelcoming.