"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument’s author asserts that amongst the two of the firms: adams realty and fitch realty, the former is superior to the latter when comparing the two in certain aspects.While it may be true considering different aspects of the construction business which the author might have not taken into consideration, it certainly isn’t true based on the evidence the author has given as it is rife with loopholes and assumptions.

Citing the real estate parameter for judging which amongst the two is superior, the author states that adams has 40 agents and fitch has 25, many of whom work part time.No doubt that is a relevant indicator but it lacks holistic approach when comparing the two. For instance, the 40 employees working in adams realty might not be as efficient as the 25 employees working in fitch making it more cost efficient while comparing the constant expenses which each of the firm has to bear.

Furthermore, the argument goes on to compare the two based on the revenue indicator. It states that adams’ revenue is twice as big as fitch when comparing the average of the home sales. The loophole in this evidence is that while adams’ may be having a higher revenue than fitch, they haven’t really told us about when both of them actually started with their companies. For example, adams realty maybe ten years old and earning that revenue whereas fitch might be only five years old and still not that far from adams realty surpassing the former in the long run.

Moreover, the author’s last evidence states that when trying out both personally, the experience was better with adams as compared to fitch as the house which the author was trying to sell was sold on adams quicker than fitch. This statement would definitely influence a person who’d choose between the two. But there is the biggest gap particularly in this statement when reading the whole passage as the ‘time’ factor is ignored substantially stating that ten years back the house was sold on fitch which took four months whereas recently a house that was put up on adams got sold in a months’ time. This statement certainly does not put adams in the forefront considering that there are a lot of factors which change in ten years’ time which could put fitch on the higher side when compared.

In conclusion, the author’s claims that as adams had higher real estate agents, bigger revenue and as the homes got sold in adams sooner than fitch irrespective of the time period, adams realty was bigger than fitch which is truly baseless and rife with gaps and holes. The arguments’ assumptions if prove unwarranted are fatal for fitch as it damages the reputation of the particular company and sends out the wrong analysis.