The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

In this argument, the author suggests that productivity and profits of Climpson Industries will be improved by preventing employees from wasting time through installing software to monitor employees' Internet use. This conclusion is based on a survey which indicated the main recreational activities of major workers on the Internet and the assumption that electronic monitoring software can effectively reduce the time wasted online during work without any side effect or alternative solution. However, some crucial evidence fail to be presented, which casts doubt on the validity of this argument.

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.