We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

The argument makes a number of unjustified assumptions regarding the increase in the funding for the movie. Considering all the assumptions that the argument makes while trying to reason the increased funding, the argument would totally fall apart if one or more of these unstated assumptions were not true. Some of the flaws of this particular argument have to stated below.

The first assumption that the argument makes is that the director, who only has experience directing commercials, would be wasteful. The argument mentions that the advertising business is notorious for wasting resources; however, it fails to mention whether the director, too, is wasteful as well. However, it might be the case that this particular director is very keen about expenses; in which he differs from the rest of his/her competitors in the advertising community. If this were true, the director might as well finish the shoot in the appropriate amount of money required; thus, increasing the funding for the movie by 10% would be unnecessary and doing so could raise questions: after hearing that even though the shoot could be done in the allotted amount of money, the producer requested an increase in funding, the movie studio might think that the producer was trying to mismanage the funds and sue him for it. Thus, this could result in a lot of legal as well as ethical complications for the producer.

Second, the argument mentions that they have hired a relatively inexperienced crew - assistant producers and directors - for cutting expenses, and concludes that this will lead to increase time needed to arrange things for the shoot. This statement assumes that the crew will be slower to arrange things because of their lack of experience. However, no support has been provided for this assumption. If the argument would have mentioned a survey which said that experienced crew tend to work faster, this assumption could have been supported. However, as no such support has been provided, it might be the case that the inexperienced crew work more swiftly than the experienced crew, maybe because they want to prove that they are at least as good as, if not better, than their more experienced competitors. If this assumption is unwarranted, the assistant producers and directors might arrange things fast, needing no extra expenditure on payment of actors and the unionized crew. Thus, the increase in funding would not be required at all.

Finally, the argument states that if this extra money is not provided, the movie will almost certainly be a failure. The argument fails to provide any evidence for the assumption that states that there is a relation between the lack of funding and the success/failure of the movie. If this assumption is untrue, then there would be no effect of increasing the funding, that is, the method suggested by the author to counter these issues, on the failure of the movie. It is entirely possible that in spite of increasing the funding, the movie, due to its terrible storyline, was utterly unwatchable and turned out to be a complete failure.

All of the aforementioned assumptions, if unwarranted, seriously damage the argument's authenticity. The conclusion, to increase the funding for the movie, as suggested by the movie producer, would not hold true and would be ineffective if any of these assumptions were not justified.