When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The author of this argument claims that unused open areas in Stanley Park must be allocated for socializing. To justify the recommendation, the author cites the following facts. Video camera recordings indicate that average 50 cars per day are parked in Stanley Park’s parking. Moreover, in creasing Stanley Park’s popularly lead to they need more benches. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, the author relies on the assumption that the few cars in parking indicate Stanley Park’s popularly is decreased. It is entirely possible that people like to use of the bicycle for going to the park. In addition, the parking may have not enough capacity for more that 50 cars and people have to park sides of streets. Moreover, the author assumes that one person in each car, while four people can use a car. Without considering these possible scenario, the author can not justifiable conclude that the few people go to Stanley Park.

Second, a serious of problems with the argument arises from the scant information on which it stands. In comparing the number of ample benches, the author fails to consider the lack of bench in Carlton Park might reveals that many people go to there, because the author must provide information about the total number of bench each of two parks. In short, since the argument relies on the limited statistical information, I can not take the author’s conclusion seriously.

In the third place, the author concludes that we should use unused open areas in socializing for socializing. However, there is no evidence that people, who come to the park, do not use this area. Indeed, juveniles may come this park for do some sports activates, which needs open space, such as riding bicycle, skateboarding, or even walking. In this way, author’s suggestion can increase people’s disagreements. Since, the author provide no warrant that’s his suggestion is beneficial for most people, I cannot convince the author’s conclusion.

To sum up, the argument is logically flowed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information about the number of benches. To evaluate the argument, it would be better to consider the all possible scenario that how people go to the park. Moreover, we must know why people go to the park.