Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument asserts that baskets which used to be found only in proximity of Palea have a unique pattern and thus they were considered as uniquiely Palean. However, a basket with such a pattern has been found across a deep and broad river. Consequently, the originator of the argument concludes that baskets are not uniquely Palean. In order to estimate the soundness of the writer's conclusion, the given evidence should be carefully analyzed.

First of all we are told that the Brim River which is located between two villages today is broad and deep, however, we are not given in...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.