Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author goes on stating that the woven baskets are local and unique only to nearby places around the prehistoric village of Palea. The author claims that these woven baskets are made only by the Palean people. But a recent discovery of a Palean basket has been made in an ancient village Lithos, which is on the other side of the river. Due to the broadness, depth of this river and lack of boats with Paleans author assumes that these baskets are not unique to village of Palea. The author here does not make a cogent case and relying on claim that Palean didn’t have ways to cross the river or to trade their goods across the river is inherently flawed.

Firstly, the author’s claim of Paleans not having boats may be true. Based on this assumption, there are variety of factors which might have led to basket falling in hands of Lithos villagers, one such factor may have been Barter System. In prehistoric times, there wasn’t any currency they predominantly relied on exchange of goods of the same value. Here, the Palean basket might have been a part of a barter transaction. These exchange or trade of goods take place with the help of nomadic merchants, traders or travellers who might have an ability to transport goods across the river. There may be chances that Lithos had access to boats and were frequent visitors to their neighbouring village – Palea.

Secondly, the author’s claim of river being broad and deep and boat as the only transportation across the river is flawed as there are many reasons to debunk these assumptions. One such reason is the river might not have been broad or deep as stated by the author. The river must have gone through a steady change over the years there is a likelihood of river being dried up which gave both villages on the opposite sides an opportunity to travel by foot. He also assumes boat as the only reason backing his argument of basket’s origin and uniqueness. There might have been a bridge which the archaeologists are still not aware of and led to transport of goods between both villages.

In conclusion, the author relying on discovery of a “Palean” doesn’t disprove its uniqueness. He had overlooked certain facts such as the trade relations between the two villages and the possibility of existing transport facilities. Had he considered the findings of more archaeologists on this issue or the probability of finding the articles to places beyond Lithos and Palea, the argument would have been far more persuasive.