Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

In the above argument, the author first states that woven baskets with a particular pattern were of Palean style but then refutes this fact because of the discovery of a similar basket in Lithos. He directly claims that the discovery of “Palean” baskets in Lithos implies that the baskets, commonly known as Palean Baskets were not uniquely Palean. However, he doesn’t give a concrete evidence and hence his conclusion seems unwarranted.

Firstly, the distinctive pattern of baskets found in Palea means that these baskets are endemic to Palea itself. The discovery of just one basket in Lithos doesn’t make it native to Lithos. Also, the author does not mention the era of the Palean civilization or the time when the River Brim took shape. The author’s assumption that the River Brim shaped before the woven basket came into being can be wrong. In that case, the basket could have been easily carried to Lithos from Palea. Also, he assumes that the river never dried up or there were no changes in the geographical pattern of the river that might have made it easier for the humans to cross it. However, one can’t dismiss this possibility of geographical metamorphosis. Hence, the conclusion seems pre-empted.

Secondly, just like archaeologists have recently espied a basket in Lithos, we cannot completely rule out the possibility of the discovery of the Palean boats in the near future. No finding does not mean no existence. If this happens, it will lead the author to reexamine his conclusion. Hence, unless and until sound evidences are gathered, one can’t infer that the baskets are not unique and belonging to the Palean culture. Also, as no boat was found in Palea, the author preconceives that it was impossible to carry the basket to Lithos. However, he does not consider the possibility that the people in Lithos might have boats during that time and they carried the basket to Lithos when they sailed there from Palea. It is not necessary that the baskets have to be carried by humans itself. There might have been natural calamities when the baskets were translocated to Lithos.

Finally, the contingency that the people from Lithos tried to copy the Palean style and the basket discovered in Lithos might be made by them only after they had seen the Palean basket cannot be ignored.

Thus, in totality, by the mere discovery of a basket in Lithos, one can’t question the uniqueness of the basket with reference to Palea. Hence, nothing conclusive can yet be stated unless further evidences are discerned.