Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Based on the very fact, that the Brim River is broad and deep, the author insists, that only by boat can one across the river. As no boat has been found in Palean so far, therefore, the only plausible explanation of a unique Palean basket being discovered in Lithos has to be that the basket belongs to Lithos. In other words, it was, from the author’s perspective, impossible to carry a Palean basket to Lithos without boat.

The first hidden assumption made by the author is the river never dry up, or not being frozen at any time, or the water lever has been remained the same as always, under all of which circumstances human beings are not able to walk across the river. So we need more evidence to show whether the Brim River changes to be possible to cross by walking. If any document or other geological materials indicate that the Brim River had once been dried up, then it will certainly weaken the author’s claim.

The second hidden assumption is the author assumes the Brim River had been shaped before the particular basket came to being. We have to, therefore, identify both of the forming time of the Brim River and the Palean basket. If the Brim River formed before the basket, it definitely strengthens the author’s claim. Otherwise, such basket being carried to Lithos without boat is consequently reasonable.

Another crucial assumption, according to the author’s argument, is Palean people and only Palean people could ever carry the basket to Lithos. From the fact that no boat was found in Palean, the author derived an inference that such basket was impossible to be carried to the rival village. However, we need to see whether there’s a boat as old as the basket in Lithos. If the answer is yes, then the basket was probably carried by Lithos people when they sailed to Palean for trade, and accidentally brought the distinctive basket back to Lithos. In that case, the claim raised by the author was weakened.

Lastly, the author preconceived that the basket must have been brought by human beings. However, natural force also could be involved in the translocation of the basket. One single basket found in Lithos was hardly able to exclude the non-human factors as a cause of that. It’s perhaps the waves pushing it to the bank near Lithos. Thus, given that the more Palean baskets were discovered in Lithos, the more likely the basket belongs to Lithos. Of course it should be concluded when the above three assumptions turn out to be true.