Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Author argument that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because a "Palean" basket was discovered by archaeologists in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea is flawed. In the argument, the author propounds a strong conclusion where the evidence provided is not cogent and sufficient.

First, the author did not provide any evidence of finding more Palean baskets in Lithos. Due to this, it cannot be inferred that "Palean" baskets were also woven in Lithos. The author assumes that, since no Palean boats have been found, Palean boats did not exist. But, if no Palean boats have been found doesn't meant Palean that boat did not exist, but it can also be inferred that they are yet to be discovered.

Second, the author did not provide any evidence stating that the "Palean" basket could not float over water. It can be assumed that the "Palean" basket discovered by archaeologists could have floated its way across the Brim River from Palean to Lithos. Third, the author doesn't provide any evidence stating that the Lithos did not have boats. Due to this, it can be implied that a villager of Lithos could have visited their neighbouring village ( Palea ) and could have brought that "Palean" basket along while going back to Lithos.

The evidence stating that Palean basket connot float, more “Palean” baskets were found in areas other than palea and it vicinity and that Lithos also did not have boats could have made the argument stronger and cogent. As it stand, the argument is flawed for the reason indicated.