Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The issue of the uniqueness of the Palean basket is as timely as ever. Recently these baskets were discovered in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. He suggests that River is deep and broad, so the ancient Paleans crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats were found and based on this he claims that Palean basket were not Palean uniquely. Though the underlying issue has merit, because of lack of evidence, weak assumption, and vague terminology the author’s argument is unsubstantiated.

First of all author’s assumption of boats as only mode of transportation is questionable. It is possible that basket might have been dropped by someone in Palea into the River and it might have reached Lithos with the flow of the river like pollen or seeds of plants are transported in the river. So flow of river can also play an important role in the transportation of the basket.

Secondly, the author claims that the river is deep and broad but he undermines the fact that whenever the river is such broad and deep, there could be small gap between the two banks of the river at some distance from the village where it might be easy for transportation and people might have used that place transportation.

Finally, basket could also sent through wires attached on the both sides of the river which might not have been discovered by the researchers. In order to substantiate this there is a river named Manikaran where people use wires to transport items from one side to another.

Despite the argument’s flaws and unconvincing terminology the author could strengthen his position by providing evidences that might help us to reach a conclusion. Also he should consider the above stated facts only then the argument’s reasoning would be significantly improved. However, without these changes, the argument is implausible and reasonable faulty.