Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguments that the Palean’s baskets were not uniquely theirs since archeological samples of the baskets were found in the neighboring village; Litho may seem logical at first glance. The author makes a valid argument, one which would be correct only if some certain questions are answered. Additionally, the passage also uses terms that lack clarity and proper definition.

First, the author assumes that since woven baskets were found in the immediate vicinity of Palean village, they were made by the Palean’s. This argument is flawed, what makes us believe that the baskets are Palean’s and not Litho’s or from any other neighboring village? The fact that baskets are found in the Palean vicinity does not mean they are made by the inhabitant of the village. In an attempt to strengthen the argument, the details of the occupations by Palean’s must be accounted for. Are they crafters of useable items or otherwise? In fact, to be sure that the baskets were Palean’s an historical overview of their occupation is highly needed.

Secondly, the author assumed that since the river between Palean and Litho is broad and could only be crossed by boat (which evidence was not found) means the baskets were not uniquely Palean’s. If we assumed that the baskets are truly attributed to the Palean’s, what are the evidence to account for the following; were boats the only means of transportation between both villages? Was there any evidence of migration from Palean to Litho’s? Is there a proof of bi-lateral trades between both villages? What is the historical documentation of the primary activities in the Palean village? Surprisingly, boats might not have been the only means of transportation between both cities during those days. It is possible for that an alternative route exist. Moreover, the fact that Palean boats were not found cannot be used as a concrete justification that they have no boats to migrate. Even, if we assume that the Palean’s have no boats, the author failed to state if the Litho’s have boats or not. If the Litho’s do have boats, it is possible that the Litho’s migrate with their boats to buy woven baskets from the Palean’s. If this is so, certainly woven baskets that are uniquely Palean’s will be found in Litho’s. In order to strengthen the argument, I maintain that history survey of the villages must still be presented. The historical occupation of the habitant of both villages till extinction must be known, like wise their means of transportations.

Lastly, the word “particular distinctive pattern” is vague, lacks clarity, and must be properly defined. Was the basket made of a particular color; say red, green or blue? In order to remedy this flaw the word must be defined explicitly. Was there a specific design used by the Palean’s that could not be found in any other basket crafting villages. All this questions needs to be addressed by the author of the argument. Ultimately, Palean’s may be renowned for basket crafting and this may account for their economic growth. Consequently, their styles (Palean’s) may attract people from neighboring villages to learn and buy their crafted works. Through the passage of knowledge, styles and concepts will be imbibed in foreigners. This will be sufficient for explaining why Palean’s baskets are found in Litho.

Conclusively, because the argument makes an unwarranted assumption without proofs, it fails to make a convincing case that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean’s.