Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to evaluate the argument that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean, one must first glance at the similarities between the newly discovered Palean basket and the previous one. The latter was characterized by a very specific pattern which if proven to be identical to the recently found basket, would confirm that the artifacts are not unique to the Palean people.

Another important piece of evidence has to do with the positioning of the villages. According to the text, they were in close proximity, only to be divided by a river. It is therefore plausible that the two ancient populations might have interacted and such baskets would have been exchanged or that ancient Paleans could have migrated to the area across the river and as such, brought their basket weaving skills with them.

When looking at the Brim River, one must analyze the depth and broadness in the specific time frame as water is known to be an erosive factor which can cause significant changes in landscape. Therefore, we would not be able to point out whether the now-deep river was previously a shallow one, which would have allowed the baskets to be transported one way or the other.

Moreover, there needn’t be evidence of a Palean boat; an ancient Palean instrument which would have allowed cargo to be carried over the river, such as a rudimentary raft meant only for goods, would suffice to show that Paleans and Lithoes traded and could thus explain the discovery of the baskets.

Additionally, the paragraph mentions no evidence regarding other means of passing the river, such as a bridge. If either the Lithoes or the Paleans could be proven to have used bridge-like constructions, it would serve as a strong argument to prove that the two populations came into contact and therefore the Lithoes could have learned the distinctive wooving specific to the Palean baskets.

Lastly, the originally discovered Palean baskets were found “in the immediate vicinity” of the Palean village. This may very well serve to show that the baskets in fact belonged to a different village but were wrongly attributed to the Palean as they might have also been carried there by strong river currents from Lithos. This would strengthen the argument in the sense that it would prove that the baskets were not at all uniquely Palean, on the contrary, the Paleans would thus be the “imitators”.

In conclusion, there is not sufficient evidence in order to support the claim that the baskets were not uniquely Palean and more proof is needed if we are to make this statement.