Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument claims that Palean basket was not unique to Palea village due to the newly found Palean basket in Lithos village. Lithos village was located across the Brim river from Palea, and it would be impossible for Palea inhabitants to cross the river because no boat was found in Palea village, according to the arguments. For several reasons, the argument is flawed and does not provide strong reasoning to persuade the readers.

First of all, the argument only stated that there were no Palean boats found. There is one cogent explanation for that fact. It could be the Paleans experienced great famine or other catastrophic disasters that forced them to leave their land. To do so, they took all the boats they had and traveled through the river. The event of distributing the basket to Lithos might happened before the Paleans suffered from the disaster.

Let's say the Paleans indeed never invented any boats. Thus, they were never able to travel through the river. It could be that the Lithos, who approached Paleans and started to do business there. In one occasion, they traded baskets with harvest products or could be something else.

Last but not least, the Paleans or Lithos might discovered the part of Brim river that was shallow enough to be crossed over. They used that path to get through the other side, so they could stay connected. The path might be far away from the village and required long amount of walking time.

In conclusion, the arguments need more stronger evidence and conclusion to make it more persuasive and logic.