Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that the uniquely patterned woven baskets did not originally belong to the village of palea,this author's argument does not make a cogent case for the distinctively patterned basket's false and perhaps undiscovered origin. It is easy to understand why the baskets might not be the creation of residents of palea , but the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not strong enough to state that the uniquely woven baskets were discovered by the Lithos or some other ancient people.

The author states that the archaeological survey has reported a similar so called "palean" basket in Lithos, which was an ancient village across the Brim river from palea. The author however assumes that the river was always there. For instance, the river could have been formed in the later years due to ecological and environmental changes in the temperature, atmosphere and soil. The river's formation and origin has however not been surveyed by the archaeologists yet. Unless the archaeological survey is fully representative,reliable and valid, we just do not know.

Additionally, the author implies that due to absence of any palean boats across the brim river, it is possible that the woven baskets were not originally a unique creation of the palean people. While due to no boats being found, a concrete connection between the palean baskets and the Lithos accessibilities is not effectively made. It can be inferred from the above assumption that the access to boats by Lithos people could have resulted in trading or stealing of the baskets or the pattern, respectively, from Palea. To strengthen his/her argument, the author needs to state a normed survey of Lithos accessibilities and the connections between the two villages.

Building upon the implications that Palean people might not have access to boats, and so the baskets are not the creation of only the Palean people. for example, what if the evidence of the palean people owning boats has been washed off or no longer existing. The author does not mention a proper detailed and proven survey of the inaccessibility of boats by Palean people.

Thus a proper and detailed survey of the various assumptions inferred from the author's argument can result in the proven origin of the distinctively woven baskets as not by the Palean people but by someothers. Hence, it is futile to base an arguments'possibility on fallacious reasoning and assumptions.