Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument concludes without substantial evidence, that the Palean baskets are uniquely Palean. Some arguments such as baskets being endemic to Palea are in favor of the conclusion. However, there are more opposing arguments such as no boats being found across the Brim river and archaeologists discovering "Palean" baskets in Lithos.

The following paragraphs present evidence, if provided, would weaken the argument and assert that baskets are unique to Palea.

The first argument states that archaeologists found one such Palean basket in Lithos. This argument is not a statistically sufficient sample. It is crucial to determine if more such baskets are present in Lithos. Given that there is only one such finding, it follows that such baskets are unique to Palea and could be not manufactured in the surrounding villages such as Lithos.

Additional evidence is needed which states whether such baskets are present in villages surrounding Palea, apart from Lithos. Such villages where Palean baskets can be discovered, may or may not exist. Non existence would further weaken the statement that the baskets are not unique to Palea.

Furthermore, the possibility of other villages building their own versions of baskets that suit a specific village's conditions needs to established. With this evidence, it follows that there might not have been a need to use Palean baskets and leads us to the possibility that Palean baskets might have been used only in Palea and not elsewhere.

The following paragraphs present evidence, if warranted, would strengthen the argument that the baskets are not unique to Palea.

It has to established if remains of boats are present across the river bed. It could be possible that in an unfortunate event, such as a flood, the boats might have been carried away and destroyed by the floods. The presence of boats indicates that Palean inmates were able to carry their baskets and introduce them to surrounding villages - hence strengthening the argument that they are not unique to Palea and thus substantiating the archaeologists' findings in Lithos.