Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument holds true for the part to believe that Palean baskets were not authentically Palean as it was found at another place as well.From all the time, be it ancient or modern the cultures across the villages nearby same river were almost similar. If research would have followed then there was a chance that it was also found in any other village apart from these two. Maybe the pattern was followed from some other place city or town to these villages.

But at the same time even this is possible that people used to travel through any other means to reach Lithos or had any connecting bridge that washed along with the flow of the river long time back. There also might be some other mode of communication that was not investigated thoroughly. Also in ancient times the mode of business was exchange of commodities so there might be chances that it was sold through any local market common for both the places.

Since the argument talks about the prehistoric period the mode of transportation or communication might be destroyed with time but the tradition follows and get better as well as enhanced with time. Since much research was not done on transportation it shows no clear evidence to prove that Palean baskets were not authenthic and uniquely from Palean.