Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage determines that a basket characterized by a distinctive pattern, historically thought of as a basket unique to the Palean people, must not be as unique to their cutlure as initially believed. The passage delineates certain evidence that the author believes to be strong enough to support his assertion. However, there are evidentiary gaps that need to be filled before his argument can be asserted as true.

First, the author makes the assertion that a recent discovery of the basket in question was made by archeologists in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea, citing this discovery as evidence that people other than the Paleans made these baskets. What he fails to recognize is that because the basket was found in the ancient “Lithos”, does not necessarily mean that it was not a Palean-made basket. It is highly likely that the basket was lost to the river and resurfaced in Lithos where the archeologists discovered it. Additionally, it is likely that the basket floated across the river where the people from Lithos found it and replicated it, rendering it, still, a uniquely Palean basket.

Secondly, the author notes that the Brim River seperating Palea and Lithos was so deep and broad that the Palean people would have only been able to cross it by boat, noting te impossibility of that feat since not Palaen boats have been found. However, the fact that no boats have been found does not mean that there were none in existence that the Paleans could have been utilizing to cross the river. Futhermore, The Brim River is put forth as being deep and wide in the present, but the passage does not indicate the condition of the river in ancient times. It could have been possible that the river was more narrow or more shallow in ancient times, enabling the Palean people to cross it without the use of a boat, explaining the presence of the basket in Lithos.

Moreover, the passage does not mention anything about the inventions or travel abilities of the people from ancient Lithos, the pasage only mentions that there have been no “Palean boats” found. If it is true that the Brim River was too deep and too wide to only be crossed by boat and the the Paleans, in fact, did not have access to boats, we cannot say whether the people of Lithos had boats that could be used to cross the Brim River. If this were true, the people from Lithos could possibly cross the river to trade with the Paleans and could have acquired one or many of these baskets, which would weaken the argument that the baskets are not “uniquely Palean”.

The arguement that the author provides to disupte the uniquness of the “so-called Palean baskets” is filled with fallacies. It is clear to see that there are many possible alternative explanations to the evidence that the author provides to support his claim. The Palean baskets could have been discovered in Lithos for a number of reasons that do not provide factual claim to the authors conclusion. The evidentiary gaps that needed to be filled to deem the author’s claim as true, leave room for too many questions and alternative explanations to convince the reader of his assertion.