Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the author concludes that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. To support this the author cites following facts. First, archaeologists discovered Palean basket in Lithos. Besides, the river between Lithos and Palan is very deep and broad. Then, no Palean boats have been foud. Close scrutiny of each of these facts, however, reveal none of these facts lends credible support to the conclusion.

First, the mere fact that no Palean boats have been found does not mean that no boat existed at all. Perhaps the Palean boat wad made by some easily decomposing material such as woods. After a few years, the woods had already been eroded. In order to evaluate the argument, the author should provide more specific record evidences that the river existed in then.

Even if the author successfully justifies that there were no boats, the argument still based on a flawed assumption that the only way carrying Palean baskets from Palean to Lithos was by boat. Since no evidence corroborates this assumption, it is entirely possible that the basket was not directly brought to Lithos by the people lived in Paean or Lithos, but rather by trade. Furthermore, since only one single blanket has been found, this boat might be droped by a resident of Palean, and then drifted to the opposite side. Any of these scenarios, if true, would serve to undermine the conclusion that the baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Finally, the author also needs to provide evidence to substantiate that there did exist a river in the past. Otherwise, there might not be a river at all. If it is true, the residents of villages could walk away and back freely, with baskets, let alone "cross the river". Without this crucial evidence, any reasoning based on this fact is unconvinced.

In short, the argument is replete with ambiguous points. The lack of enumerated evidence renders the argument open to different explanations defying any certain evaluation. Therefore, the conclusion which is based on such an inconclusive argument cannot be tenable.