Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author states that the woven baskets which had a particular distinctive pattern have been found in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea. Thus it was believed by the people that the woven basket can be made only by the palean people. However,a archaeologist recently discovered a palean basket in Lithos. Lithos is the ancient village which is across the Brim river from Palea. Thus author concludes that the woven basket were not unique palean. But the authors claim is based on very weak evidences.

Author mentions about the distinct pattern of the woven baskets which were made by the people of palea. But the author does not briefly explain the distinct character of the basket.If the basket found by the archaeologist was of exactly same pattern as that of the palean basket then it would strengthen the authors claim. If the pattern would vary from the palean basket distinctive pattern then it would weaken the claim of the author.

Moreover,author states that the Lithos was across the river. He also tell us that the river was deep and broad.But author does not take into consideration that the basket would have flown in the river from palea and reach the village of Lithos. Author that characteristics of river Brim & state that boat could be only be the mode of transport. But the palean boats were not found during the archaeological survey.The author does not mentions that the river was uncrossable. If the people of palea were good swimmers then they might have crossed the river. The immigration of the people from palea to lithos may lead in the sharing of the knowledge of making the woven basket.

Thus,the author needs to give more strong evidences which will leads us to the conclusion that palean basket were not unique palean.