Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

According to the author, earlier, Palean baskets were found only in the vicinities of Palea village. But recently, as archaeologists have found a Palean basket in a village called Lithos, the author thinks that Palean basket cannot be unique to Palean; based on the fact that Paleans never had a boat to cross the Brim River to reach Lithos.

First, the author states that only one Palean basket was found in Lithos. But, if Palean baskets were used by the people of Lithos as well, then the archaeologists would have found more than one basket. As there is only basket found in the Lithos village, it is totally possible that this basket might have belonged to Palean people and through some way it might have got into the hands of Lithos’ people. For instance, the basket might have fell into the river and the river currents might have carried the basket to the bank of Lithos. For this reason, if the archaeologists could find more number of Palean baskets in the Lithos village, it would strengthen the argument.

Second, it could be easily understood from the argument that the author perceives Brim River as an obstacle that had prevented the people from Palea village and Lithos village to interact. In effect, he thinks that the Palean basket found in Lithos doesn’t belong to the Palean village. But, no evidence of whether or not the river existed or the condition of the river during the time of Palean people has been provided. For instance, the river might have been dry for some time period during which people from either of the villages could have travelled to others’ village during which the basket might have got into the Lithos village. Hence, if evidence could be provided that during the time of Palean people, Brim River more or less used to be as deep and as broad as it is now, it would strengthen the argument.

Lastly, the author posited that Paleans wouldn’t have crossed the river because no boats were found. Before a Palean basket was found in Lithos, it was believed that Palean baskets were uniquely Palean. But, later as a Palean basket was found in Lithos, this raised a question of whether the baskets are uniquely Palean. Similarly, if in future some archaeologist claims the existence of a Palean boat, it would totally disrupt the argument.

Considering all the aforementioned reasons, the argument doesn’t provide enough evidence to justify the given conclusion in the argument. Hence, the argument is inherently flawed and the author needs to provide more evidence.