Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In this argument, the author rebuts the general notion that the so-called Palean baskets were not unique to Palean. To support this refutation, the author points out that a “Palean” basket was recently discovered by researchers in Lithos that was an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The author also reasons that Brim River’s width and depth and the lack of proper vehicles to cross over the river during the Palean’s time would have prevented the so-called Palean baskets from being brought over the river from Palean to Lithos; thus the basket was also made in Lthos too in the prehistoric times. Careful scrutiny reveals that the evidence given by the author provides little credible support to the author’s claim in several respects.

Basically, the author hastily assumes that the recent discovery of the basket in Lithos means only two possibilities that the basket was carried by Palean or it was made by in Lothos in the prehistoric times. It might be the case, however, it is still possible that it was brought from Palean to Lithos in another times after the prehistoric times. For instance, several hundred years ago, a person who had collected artifact took the basket from Palean to Lithos or a skill to make a basket similar to Palean’s one was developed in Lithos and the Lithos people made it later. If these possibilities are true, this argument cannot convince us.

Secondly, even we concede that bring the basket from Palean to Lithos occurred only the prehistoric times, this argument is problematic in that it assures that the basket was only moved by human. In this regard, however, there are several possible other reasons to explain the discovery in Lithos. If in the prehistoric times, there was tremendously large flood in Palean and Lithos, this disaster made it possible that the flood moved the basket from Palean to another areas, such as Lithos. Until the author eliminate this possibility, this argument is still controversial.

Lastly, stating no Palean boats have been found, the author also relies on another assumption that the absence of Palean boat prohibit the people from crossing over the river. In this regard, however, there are several other ways to move from Palean to Lithos. For instance, the Palean people in the prehistoric times were able to go to Lithos by land or there were specialists who could cross over the deep and broad river. Without ruling out these possibilities, we cannot evaluate this argument properly.