Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that the discovery of a woven basket in Lithos can prove these kind of baskets were not only characteristic of Palean people. However, this conclusion is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions, which distort the view of the situation. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, the author readily assumes that for the woven baskets to arrive the other side of the river it is necessary to transport them by boat. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the woven baskets might have fallen accidentally in the river and transported by the river currents until arriving the other side of the river. Hence, the argument would be much more convincing if it presented some of evidence that the transportation across the river due to river currents was impossible due to some specific reason.

The author also implies that the fact they have not found Palean boats means they did not have them, which is a weak and unsupported assumption. In fact, if Palean people had built boats many years ago, it is not expectable to find these boats today. In prehistoric times, the boats, if existent, were probably wooden made, degrading within a relatively short period of time. Moreover, even if they are still extant, they may have been transported in the river currents to some further place. In addition, archeologists may not have developed the enough efforts to find traces of boats. If argument had provided evidence that Palean people were unable to construct boats, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author implicitly claims in the prehistoric times there was a deep and broad river dividing Palea and Lithos. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little support for this reasoning. Was there any river during the times of Palea and Lithos? Was the river narrower than nowadays? Maybe in the prehistoric times it was possible to walk or swim to reach Lithos from Palea. Unless the author can show that the characteristics of the river have not changed since the prehistoric times, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart and archeologists could very well make a major mistake saying the Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean.