Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given paragraph the author spoke about woven baskets and concluded that they were not uniquely Palean, author told that the woven baskets which are similar in pattern too were also found in some other place called Lithos this statement tempt us to follow authors conclusion that baskets were not uniquely Palean, But it is fallacious to do so.

Author told that there were no boats of Palean were found, So that the baskets were not uniquely Palean the assumption is false as the boats they used might be of Lithos and also these woven baskets might be used for trading purposes that is to carry their goods either from Palean to Lithos or form Lithos to Palean. In this process some one form Palean who visited Lithos to carry goods might have lost his basket in Lithos.

And the river which author spoke about is situated between the two villages. And the river might exist or does not exist at ancient times. Even if it exists it might be not that much broad as it is now, it might be narrow through which people can cross with their foot instead of boats for this reason might the archaeologists did not found any boats near. As we all know the things in the world change from time and climate changes due to calamities.based on the statement no boats were found we cannot conclude that the baskets were not uniquely Palean.

And the basket found in the Lithos might be carried away from Palean by tornado or floods caused in Palean or people migrated from palean to Lithos for cultivation or for better living purpose might carried it with them.

Based on the authors premises saying or concluding that baskets were not uniquely Palean is fallacious, Thus palean basket is made uniquely in Palean.