Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author, the woven basket found on ancient city of Lithos is not a Paean basket. Some evidences have served as basis for the conclusion of the author of the letter. However, these evidences need further evaluation as it is rife with uncertainties.

Citing the geological feature of brim river and absence of Paean boat as evidences, The author asserts that the basket found in Lithos cannot be originated from Paean city. According to him, the deep water and sheer wideness of the brim river requires boat so that Paleans can cross to Lithos, but no Paean boats were ever found; thus, there is no way that Paean basket was ever transported to the other side. However, the author never considers the geological evolution that bodies of water undergo. It may be possible that during ancient times the brim river was just a regular stream or a thin, shallow river where Paleans can cross and distribute the basket by foot or by crossing simple wooden bridge. Yet over time, as the water volume increases due to climactic or geological phenomena, the river becomes wider and deeper. But to that time, the civilizations in both sides are no longer present; thus, a boat was never necessary in the first place. Consequently, the excavators did not find any Paean boat. Through Intricate archaeological investigation on the brim river, it will give the author an in-depth understanding to its ancient feature and finally understand why no Palean boat was ever found.

On the other hand, if the features of Brim River at the time of excavation are almost exactly the same as it was in ancient times, it may be possible that the people from Lithos were the ones that have crossed by boat and introduced the basket to Paleans instead. In effect, it was pointless to raise the absence of Paean boats as evidence in justifying the basket is not uniquely Paean when it is possible that it wasn’t the Paleans that crossed the river to begin with. Further excavation and scientific investigation may confirm whether the conclusion is warranted or not.

Furthermore, the fact that the basket was only discovered on the immediate vicinity in Palea as compared to the late discovery in Lithos may suggest that the baskets from the former are more recent than the similar baskets from the latter. With this in hand, it may be considered that it may not originate from Palea but from Lithos instead. Using carbon dating, a scientific technique, on the artefacts will help the author to determine which city it originates to.

In sum, evidences gathered by the archaeological expedition are not conclusive to support that the conclusion that the Paean basket found in Lithos did not originate from the city of Palea. In fact, the evaluation of evidence results an interesting possibility such that the distinct basket may rather introduced by people of Lithos to Paleans. Through further scientific investigation and wider excavation, the author will reach a warranted conclusion.