Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument proposes that the Palean basket, which is a distinct kind of woven basket that had only been excavated near the village of Palean is actually not confined to the Palean people. Due to the fact that this kind of basket has been found in the village of Lithos. And there is no sign that Palean people could cross the boundary, which is a river, between Palean and Lithos. However, to my opinion, there are flaws in the argument.

First, the argument is begging the question that there are only two ancient villages in that area. It is possible that there was a village that the people were having a knack of building boats and good at trading. Therefore, this group of people can have commercial activity between Palean and Lithos, thus the Palean basket would be brought to the Lithos village. Unless the argument can reinforce the insular condition between Palean and Lithos, it cannot assert that there was no trading, whether it was direct or indirect, among them.

Second, it is argument assumption that without any remain of the boat is an indication io the inavalibility of the boat in the Palean village. Perhaps people from Palean used material that is easy to be eroded to build their ships. Or perhaps they use the same material to build their home and so archaeologists cannot tell the difference between the house and boat structure. It is too assertive to say that lack of the trait of the appearance of the boat is associating that people could not cross the river in the ancient world.

Last, the argument is presuming that the landscape of that area has never changed. Since the argument does not reveal that how far the two villages can be traced back, the possibility is very high that the river which is dividing the two villages is as large as it was in the ancient world. Maybe it was a brook or maybe it did not exist in the age of the villages were thriving. Until the argument can clarify this crucial factor, it cannot state that it is impossible for the ancient people in the Palean village to across that river.

In sum, the argument fails to give more information that is pivotal to determine the assertion that the argument has made. More factors are not taken into account, factors like the outer forces that could have commercial trade and the potential explanation for the lack of excavation of boat.