Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that Palean baskets were not uniquely palean.To support this claim, the author cites that the palean basket was found in lithos and there is no mode of transportation has been found for transporting the baskets. On several ground, this evidence provides little credible support for the authors claim.

To begin with, the author provides no information about the place of manufacturing of the basket. The author has stated that it was found in the village of Palea, but he didn’t provide any information about the manufacturing and the selling part. May be the basket were just sold there and it was produced somewhere else may be in the land of lithos.

Even assuming that the the basket was found in lithos doesn’t actually mean that the basket previously found in village of Palea is not unique. Because may the people themself might have brought the basket for marketing. Or few travellers might have brought it to lithos from palea and left it. Or may be because of the natural calamity the basket could have come all across the river.

Another problem with the argument is that the author states the river as deep and broad, may be at that time the river would have been short and narrow. Or it would not been in existence at that time of period. Perhaps there was a shortage of water supply and there were no sign of river, and people easily moved around place and transported the basket.

The author claims relies on yet another unsubstantiated assumption: that the boat which would have been used by the people to cross the river was not found. However, this is unnecessary to assume because there might be any other reason for the boat to be not found. Even if the basket was transported using the boat, it might have broken down or might be set on fire by people itself for some other emergency purpose. Or maybe there were some natural calamity for the unfound boat.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen its statement the author should include the manufacturing place as well as selling place of the basket. Author should also provide additional evidence about the river origin and the whereabouts of the river at those times. Finally, to better evaluate the argument I would need to know all the above mentioned knowledge along with any other natural calamity occurring at those time of period, if so, to what extent the calamity effected the place.