Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument claims that Palean baskets were not uniquely palean. To support this claim, the author cites that the palean basket was found in lithos, and there is no mode of transportation has been found for it to be transferred. On several ground, this evidence provides little credible support for the authors claim

To begin with, the author provides no information about the place of manufacturing of the basket. The author has stated that it was found in the village, but he didn’t provide any information about the manufacturing and the selling part. It can be said that the basket were just sold there and it was produced somewhere else; may be in the land of lithos.

Even assuming that the basket was found in lithos, doesn’t actually mean that the basket previously found in village of Palea is not unique. Because,the people themself might have brought the basket for marketing to Lithos. Or few travellers might have brought it to lithos from palea and left it. Or it may be because of some natural calamity the basket could have come all across the river.

Another problem with the argument is that the author states the river as deep and broad, the author assumes without any justification that at those time the river would have been short or narrow. Or it would not been in existence. Perhaps there was a shortage of water supply and there were no sign of river, and people easily moved around place and transported the basket.

The author claims relies on yet another unsubstantiated assumption: that the boat which would have been used by the people to cross the river was not found. However, this is unnecessary to assume because there might be any other reason for the boat to be not found. Even if the basket was transported using the boat, it might have broken down or might be set on fire by people itself. Or maybe there were some natural calamity for the unfound boat. Or sometimes the people could have broken down the boat and used that for building houses for shelter.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen its statement the author should include the manufacturing place as well as selling place of the basket. Author should also provide additional evidence about the river origin and the whereabouts of the river at those times. Finally, to better evaluate the argument I would need to know all the above mentioned knowledge along with any other natural calamity occurring at those time of period, if so, to what extent the calamity effected the place.