Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

In the given argument, the author had made number of unsubstantiated assumptions about the palean baskets and about its makers.And later another unsubstantiated assumptions are "woven" baskets are not uniquely palean,as they found their existence in Lithos which an ancient village across the Brim river from Palea.

The author's first mistake is to assume that woven baskets are made by the Palean people because this particular distinctive design pattern had found by archaeologists in the immediate vicinity of this Palean village.And this assumption is seemed to be not so convincing because there is no clear evidence that people of Palean had made it.And even only by the existence of "woven" baskets in palean can't be assumed that its palean's unique design pattern.

And the next mistake made by author is by the discovery of existence of "woven" baskets in the Lithos which is an ancient village across the Brim river from palea and concluded that "woven" baskets are not uniquely Palean. And for this assumption it pretty clear that author had stated this only on the basis of archaeologists discover. And their discovery may leads to many wrong assumptions because the woven baskets may be existed in other areas which might be far from Palean or Lithos that archaeologists not at discovered.So, basing only on the archaeologists discovery that can't be concluded that "woven" baskets

are not Palean's unique design pattern.

And the last and most important mistake of author is that assuming that Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found in Palean village and its immediate vicinity and he justified his conclusion that "woven" baskets are not uniquely Palean unique design pattern by this assumption. As archaeologists not found any existence of boats in Palean,cannot lead to assume that they had not never made boats. Their might be a possible case that boats are made by them and as the years passed they may be disintegrated or taken by any foreign invasions.So this assumption cannot be taken into consideration.

Ironically if the initial assumption of author may be correct and based on this he cannot exaggerate the remaining assumptions which are having many flaws and even concluding that "woven" baskets are not unique design pattern of Palean village is even more worsening?