Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the excerpt states that the woven baskets with a particular distinctive pattern, or the so-called Palean Baskets were not uniquely Palean, and cites which points towards the presence of the baskets in village Lithos, which is across the Brim river from Palea. Although the argument does seem plausible, it misses out on certain specific evidence to evaluate its credibility.

The excerpt states that were initially found only in the immediate vicinity of prehistoric village of Palea. Though this might indicate that the Palean people were the only people involved in the Basket’s creation, the author does not state that the time period in history in which the Baskets were created, and the time period in history in which only the indigenous Palean thrived in Palea, coincides with each other. It is quite possible that certain outsiders might have invaded Palean, and brought with them these Baskets. Any evidence pointing towards a possibility of people from outside the Palean village having stayed in Palea, suggests that the Palean baskets might not be indigenous.

Also, the author cites that recent studies have revealed that the same basket was present in Lithos village. In the excerpt, Palea is mentioned as a “prehistoric” village and Lithos as an “ancienct” village. Thus, it is important to establish whether these villages thrived during the same time interval in history, because it is possible that the Lithos village might have been created centuries after the Palea village was established. The timelines need to match because if the Lithos village was established many decades after the Palea village, it weakens the argument that the baskets were not strictly Palean, since it indicates a high possibility of the baskets having passed onto the Lithos village later.

Also, it is stated that the two villages are separated by the Brim river, described as broad and deep. According to the author, this characteristic of the river posits the fact that a boat is required to cross the river, and no Palean boats have been found. But, there is an equally likely possibility of the people from the Lithos village crossing the river using their boats. There is no mention of whether the Lithos people had built boats, or not. Such an evidence can indicate that the Baskets were not created in Palean, but rather they could have been transported from Lithos. Further, there is no mention of any land routes from Palean to Lithos. So, if the possibility of a land route from Palean to Lithos exists, then the baskets could be indigenous to Palean , and could have been transported to Lithos through that route.