Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the palean basket were not native to the palean historic community as such is a vague and judgemental opinion rather than a fact. Often what appears to the vision of an onlooker can be delusional and flawed outlook. There have been many famous instances from the past wherein articles of a particular historic civilisation have been found elsewhere. For example the peacock throne that once was a part of India during the time of the mughals is presently located elsewhere. The main reasons for such confusions are the lack of exploring possibilities of communication and migration between two or more ancient civilisations that existed around the same time in history by the parochial archaelogists who are predilected to their opinions.

The primary argument that has been blatantly used by the author here is that the palean baskets that were supposed to be native to palean civilisation were also found in another ancient village called lithos that was seperated from palean village by a naturally deep and vigorous river known as Brim. This statement in itself is too inflammatory and vague. Export and import of exquisite products are not only a zeitgeist of today but have also been a zeitgeist of ancient times. So there very well could have been a way of transportation and haul of communication between these two villages. It is also equally possible that the haul hasn't been found yet . However even if this were to be ruled out as a plausibility then there still is the definite possibility of a bridge that might have been built over the river but might have been demolished in some diabolical storm or floods that ensued well before the civilisation was discovered along with the baskets.

The secondary argument that the author has used a tool to espouse his theory is that the remains of no boats were found during the excavation and is predilected to his intuition that boats were the means of transportation between those two villages seperated by the river. This in itself is ironical as there hasn't been other possibilities that have been proposed as an alternative to the very same issue of concern. Additionally, there might have also been the usage of boats for transportation across the river. The possible reason that there were not any remains found however is a subject of mundane logic that the boats might have been subjected to natural disasters over time due to which their remains might have been washed away elsewhere. Now it would be really funny if the archaelogists come up with another laughable theory that the boat remains of palean village were found elsewhere in another civilisation and that the boat usage method as such was not native to the palean village. Another possibility which could strongly repudiate this biased opinion is the possibility of land transportation either by an alternative longer route or over a shorter route by means of a bridge as discussed earlier. Hence, considering these theories as a possibility it becomes more overwhelming to refute the one that has been proposed by the author.

If the findings however were legitimate along with the theory that has been proposed as an argument, then the author needs to specify the efforts taken to explore the possibilities of a bridge built on the river as well as take a natural calamity into consideration. Unless more clarity is provided on this argument in the light of new explorations or further research, this would be nothing more than an undermined, equivocal, ambiguous plausibilty. Further study and the ability of the archaelogists to be open to suggestions however may serve as a good idea to explore all the possibilities before jumping to any conclusion instantly merely based on intuition. We will never know which of the theories at the end could be refuted but definitely a broader opinion and non dogmatic approach is necessary in such cases.