Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Woven baskets were firstly considered the unique creation in Palea. The recent discovery, however, that baskets are observed in Lithos is opposite to the earlier research. Lithos is another aged village cross to Brim River from Palea. Since the large depth and width of Brim River and the absence of boats, archaeologists believe that the “Palean baskets” are not unique to Palea. Nevertheless, the argument is unconvincing because it relies on a variety of equivocal assumptions.

The assumption is doubtful that no Palean boats have been found will surely contribute there were no boats in village Palea. It could be the Palean boats were made of natural materials such as woods and animal skins which tended to be eroded over so many years. Furthermore, it could be possible that our technology is not so advanced to discover the relics of ancient boats. The argument is unacceptable unless there has a cogent evidence to support the connection between the unfounded boats and the impossibility of its existence. To strengthen this argument, the author should do the further research on the presence of making ship tools.

The argument, on the other hand, asserts that the great depth and width of Brim River forbid the transportation between the two villages. This assumption is unwarranted for whether Brim River has remained so deep and wide in the entire period. According to the plate movement, there is a possibility of mountains becoming an ocean. Brim River could not exist in that time. Even though that there had Brim River between the two villages, it was completely possible that the scale of depth and width was more like a stream. In which cases, there was no obstacle for the transportation and that will undermine the claim that Palean people cannot cross the river with their baskets.

A further flaw is that the argument indicates that Palean baskets are brought to Lithos by Palean people. There is no absolute proof shows that the baskets found in Lithos were carried by Palean people. It could be the accident that the baskets were flown away from Palean village to Lithos village by Brim River. Even it could be the exchange as the gifts or commodities to other tribes and eventually to the Lithos village.

To sum up, this argument is failed to confirm its assertion that the Palean baskets were not particularly made by Palean people because the information cited in the article does not provide a strong support to what the arguer maintains. Without additional evidence, however, we should be wary of the accepting of the arguer’s conclusion.