Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that the well recognized baskets with a distinctive pattern, which are belived to be made only by people of Palea, were also produced in Lithos, on the basis of discovery of such baskets in the city of Lithos. While author has mentioned several details to support this argument, there is lack of evidence.

To begin with, it is mentioned that the Brim River is very deep and broad, yet, there is no specific evidence eliciting that the river had been the same forever. The river might have been narrow and shallow during the existence of Plean people, and with time, the amount and attrition of water might have incremented the depth and breadth of the river.

If proven that the river was this enormous forever, there is no evidence suggesting that people of Palea were not able to cross the river, it is mentioned that no Palean boats have been found. However, there is no detail stating that people of Lithos were not able to cross the river using their own boats. People of Lithos might have used their boats to trade with people of Palea and during this trade the baskets were brought in Lithos from Palea.

Additionally if stated that no Litho's boats were found either, there is lack of details on chronology of existence of both civilizations. Any evidence stating that both the civilizations were contemporary would have increased the reliability of the argument. Evidence stating that Palea was not the forebearer of Lithos is not provided. People of Palea might have migrated to Lithos due various reasons. Thus the authors claim that the baskets found in Lithos were not made by Palean people is implicitly wrong.

Conclusively, the impact of evidence is huge on the conclusion drawn by the author. Presence of evidence suggesting that Plea was completely isolated, would have strengthened author's assertion.