Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The evidence suggests that the Palean and Lithos people have a connection to one another. The argument states that simply because no Palean boats have been discovered in the immediate area, that the baskets were not uniquely Palean. This argument is fallacious because numerous areas have yet to be searched and excavated; more specifically the Lithos land. We must understand the culture of both civilizations in order to come to a reasonable conclusion about the origin of the baskets.

First, we must acknowledge that transportation abilities of the Lithos people as well as the Palean people. Any contact between the two villages could suggest the initiation of trade. This suggests that the Lithos people collected the baskets from the Palean people themselves and carried them back across the river in their own boats. If boats were found on the Lithos land it would greatly weaken the argument that the baskets were not uniquely Palean, because they may have been able to conduct trade.

Second, we must question the ancestry between the two villages. Any migration in and out of the villages or shared ancestry amongst them would spread knowledge and customs of the Paleans. This would extend the expertise of basket weaving to various communities and result in similar baskets being found in distant lands where the villages may have little or no connection to each other. If the two villages share common ancestry then it would support the idea that the baskets originated in the Palean village.

Third, boats may not have been the only way to cross The Brim River. The Palean and Lithos people would have most likely had a very broad knowledge of the landscape and know where the river became more shallow or less rapid, which would allow them to safely cross the river unscathed. If more research were to be conducted on the traveling patterns and knowledge of the surrounding area we could have a better idea of the origin of the basket and how they may have traveled from one community to another. If the Palean people were able to cross the river without boats it would weaken the above argument.

With strengthened, more intense research one could determine that the baskets did originate with the Palean people and that the Lithos people benefitted from their knowledge of basket weaving.