Write an essay on the following argument.

From a letter to the editor of a city newspaper.

"One recent research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. As a way of combating these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., and end the school day an hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently, the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly.

The editor from a city newspaper cites a recent study in which many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting and the editor mentioned another study that sates the effect of first study in which many high school students in their city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance, then point out that high school in their city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., then end the school day one hour later. The writer assumed as a result of an extra hour sleep in the morning, the students’ productivity and satisfaction would be improved. I find this cause and effect specious and I think there are something else that can affect sleep’s hour and student productivity.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to a study but does not mention how many people took part in the study reported. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of the people in the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Maybe in this study only ten people participated; hence, the findings of such a study are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that enough people took part in the study, there is still another problem with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the target population if the sample used is representative of the concerned population in terms of age, sex, social class, culture, etc; however, in this argument there is no evidence to show whether the sample used was representative of the target population. It follows that the findings of this study cannot be applied to the members of the population without reservations.

This assumption is based one study is the cause of another study; it means that dissatisfaction is because of lack of enough sleep in the students of their city, but maybe this is not true; maybe there are another problems that causes to dissatisfaction. Maybe the teachers of that high school have no knowledge to teach the students; hence, student can not learn any beneficial thing and the students are innocent or maybe in that school there are not good facilities such as labs, libraries, air conditioners, etc. and because of the deficit in facilities the students are dissatisfied and tedious and they do not pay much attention to study in that school.

Let’s suppose that teachers and facilities in that school are great, the writer says that if schools begin one hour later the problem will be solved and the students will be satisfied, but there is no evidence to show that premises is true. It is not known that if school begins one hour later the student can get more sleep than they are getting, maybe the students go to sleep later because watching TV or because going to party or another reasons. Also there is no evidence to show the time 8:30 A.M. that writer suggests is good time for going out from the home, maybe this in time the traffic is jammed and students force to go out at previous time.