2.Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve.

Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

The statement asserts that some people recognize an effective government as the one carrying out the will of citizens. It further asserts that other people believe that the government’s decisions should rest on the government’s judgment not the public. In what follows the spectrum of different ideas will be discussed and my position would be delineated in the end.

Many are those who think that a government is empowered to serve the people, and not to make decisions separately. Their reason resides in the fact that government is a public institution. If we give the government the right not to regard the citizens’ wants in taking decisions, we might head toward to the dictatorship. Consider the myriad instances of the dictators ignoring the wants of their people. Arab spring, recently is referred to the Arabian people who are trying to be heard via resorting to violence. Had those Arab governments recognized any fair part of the public in the decision-making process, such calamities would have not happened.

On the other side of the spectrum, people hold a different belief that if the public were to take the decisions, there would be no need of the governments. These people reason that they cede both the power and responsibility to the governments to be free to concern their own personal life rather than society at large. The other reason is that, the information and statistics, which are in the hands of political expert, make them legitimate to act at their own discretion. There is classified information of every nation, which should not be divulged in public. Hence, it is incumbent upon the governments to take decisions, these people believe, since the public does not have enough information and knowledge to do so.

As far as I am concerned, each of these extreme views, separately, holds true in some situations, and in others they fails. We should strike a balance by taking both of the beliefs into account. Democratic governing systems reconciled these two views by making parliaments institutions as a mediator between the people and government. In this case, the confidential decisions, such as national security, is taken by the government based on their own judgment, and on the other public issues the parliament helps the government to remain loyal to meet the will of the people.

In short, as discussed in the body paragraphs, there are two different views of controlling systems. In my opinion, We should strike a balance between the both views. While people should recognize the government in taking some decisions at its own discretion, the parliament, at the same time, prompt the government to meet the will of the people on public issues.