3. Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that students that seems to have little chance of success in their field of study which they are pursuing should be dissuaded by the educational institution. However, this essay contends that educational institution should not let students dream down because of what they predict at that moment.

Admittedly, educational institution has profound experience over hundreds of students for a long time. Due to their experience, they will be likely to acknowledge whether the student has a knack in his or her field of study. Thus, they can reduce the chances of failure and lead the students into a right way in which they seem to be good at and will be more likely to succeed. For instance, there is a Korean skater who won several medals in a long-distance skating several years ago. The odd point that everyone had was that he was somewhat older than the average speed skaters. He had been a speed skaters for years in the past. However, the coach knew what was wrong with his games and he turned the skater into a right field of sports where he could demonstrate his latent strength. Therefore, if it were not for the coach, that skater could have resigned his position without any medals in the Olympics.

However, educational institution is not a physic. They do not know whether that student has a strength in their field in the long run. Students can carry on their studying or their work when they have interest in it. With the interest and the long days of hard work, they could have higher chances of success rather than with less interest. If they have no interest in their work field, they will be reluctant to carry on with their field of study. For instance, Steve Jobs did not show his magnanimous strength until he gave up on his university studying which was totally different from what Apple does right now. However, he always wanted to create his own thing. Therefore, he did not follow what his educational institution had led his way and sticked to his own interest and showed a huge success towards the whole world.

In addition, there is an Idol group called "EXID". This group did not catch people's eyes and was suffering in a severe financial constraint. Therefore, the entertainment company of EXID almost gave up on them. However, some time later, a video that a fan of EXID took got so much popular that they were on the first in the billboard chart in Korea for such a long time. Moreover, from that time, they are broadcasted on TV consistently.

Therefore, educational institution should believe in what students have interest in a particular field of study and believe in their strength. It is their responsibility to encourage students and let them carry on their work.