58. Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

The motivations of learning can be influenced by several factors: personal interest, personal discipline, the high salary it would bring, or just the requirement of parents and school. For most little children, they are unlikely to have enough personal discipline, thus the requirement of schools and parents are important. However, for college students, by learning, they can achieve their goals, or pursue their dreams. It is hard to distinguish whether the motivation of learning is defined by personal discipline or the requirement of college, therefore, these factors mix together and all of them have an effect on motivating students.

On the first place, to most extent, learning is a matter of personal discipline, and the effect of colleges is very limited under complicated circumstances. On the one hand, most college students clearly know what kind of life they want to get. The discrepancy between their behavior is decided by the difference among their expectation of themselves. For the students who want to devote themselves into scientific research, it is justifiable for them to perform diligently in learning and researching. For the students who want to be the public officers, who are more likely to attend voluntary activity or to intern frequently in public office, learning is a part with relatively less meaning. On the other hand, since the college students would be responsible for their own life, the disturbance of colleges may be unnecessary even bothersome. If colleges require all students, including those activity-driven students to attendent classes and study hard every day, many students would not have enough time and energy to do the things they are really interested in. Therefore, the requirement, or the motivations of colleges should be as little as possible.

However, the schools and colleges play a key role to lead students to get involved in learning, or lead them to find their interest. Not every student knows their interest or advantages quickly after they enter the college. If school could provide some chances, such as the rotation in different laboratories, or the school day of various companies, students would have a better chance to find the field they are keen to work in. Furthermore, for the people who neither work hard certain field or have strong ability to control themselves, the motivations of schools and colleges is significant for them. At least, few people would be regret for studying hard. Once these people find proper work or field, the knowledge they accumulated in colleges would be helpful.

Even though learning is primarily depends on personal discipline, the motivations of learning could be various. The guidance and supervision of colleges are also indespensible. These factors would have an effect on learning simultaneously.