6. A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is generally accepted throughout most of nations that before entering college, students are required to take national curriculum. There can be several advantages to adopt the poligy but we should not neglect some cases that this policy would applied to be disadvantageous. Therefore, I believe that a nation should allow some exceptions for specific cases while in most cases, national curriculum should be pursued.

A national curriculum which forms analogous throughout a nation is beneficial in terms of regular indicator to assess the performance of students. Since the level of performance in secondary school is essential for colleges to determine which students can be entered to post-secondary schools, nationally same courses can be an effect way to compare students. For instance, similar to SAT in the U.S., South Korea has a test, called Sooneung -Korean SAT-, to evaluate the performance of students based on what they have learnt. Sooneung is consisted of primary subjects which intended to analyze what extent the student studied in his/her previous works represented in national curriculum. Furthermore, since a vast majority of contents in the test involves contents and equations presented in national curriculum, a student who worked hard following his/her classes in school can achieve high scores consequently. However, when many schools develop their own curriculum, this national form of test cannot be an effective way to evaluate the performance of students.

However, I assert that we should not neglect some unique cases. Prodigies, for instance, can be pertinent cases. Many of students having their own talents in arts, music, or physical aptitude, find it difficult to learn and compete with other students. Usually, they have to develop specialty which indicates distinctive features in order to thrive. So many countries allow these young students to follow exceptional curriculum to spare time for their own time. Cho Sung-jin, the first and only laureate in South Korea won the Chopin International Competition, remarked that he could be successful in his music performance because he could be taught by numerous teachers in his secondary schools which gave him special lessons to music prodigies. There are several kinds of special secondary schools in South Korea which allow some conspicuous students to follow special lectures rather national curriculum. Their performance is evaluated differently from other general students and these unique system can be helpful for college to assess students who have distinctive ability different from studying.

In conclusion, I believe that it is admittedly beneficial to follow national curriculum for students and college administration since students can orient their school works toward national-test system only and college administrations can evaluate students based on the quantitative test scores. Yet we have to consider exceptional cases that some students who have special ability may require another kind of test form to genuinely evaluate their ability far from hindering to develop their extraordinary aptitude.