71. Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

It is knotty for most young people to choose between ambitious but long-term goals and mediocre but immediate achievements. Whether young teenagers should be encouraged to pursue a long-term goal or a short-term goal should be considered according to the characteristics of teenagers as well as which kind of goals are beneficial for their future. Hence some people will support the idea that realistic and long-term goals are more worthy to pursue for adolescents. However, others may believe short-term goals are more accessible and suitable for young people to achieve.

At the first place, setting a long-term goal and pursuing it are beneficial for young people. At a very young age, teenagers have enough energy and sinew, which can facilitates them to progress. Seeking for immediate fame and recognition can only waste their energy. Moreover, owning a long-term goal will lead them to a productive and ambitious life because they would fight for achieving this goal for a long time, everyday would be meaningful and persistent. Furthermore, as long-term goals are rarely accomplished, young people, who would like to achieve it in their later life, can get a greater and more attractive fame than those who only fight for a short-term goal.

However, when we take the characteristics of young people into account, to some extent, it would be harmful to encourage them only pursue long-term goals. Young people more easily get anxious and restless. Fostering them only pursue long-term goals can easily destroy their self-confidence and motivations. On the contrary, some accessible immediate goals, which can bring them sense of achievement and recognition, will stimulate their potentials and improve their confidence. Also, the thoughts of young people are versatile and changeable, which means they have a great possibility to abandon an old goal and aim to a new one. Therefore, focusing on a long-term goal is unrealistic for young people while many short-term goals may bring them different experiences, among which they could quickly find their interests.

Another issue should be considering is that young people should be taught encouraged in accordance of their inaptitude. Before young people find their interests, parents and teachers should guide them and encourage them to explore and enlarge their gift. Immediate goals are necessary for young people to find their interests and enrich their experience, however, a suitable long-term goal might lead them to the success and summit of their life. Thus, young people should not be simply cultivated to seek for long-term goals or short-term goals.

In conclusion, while long-term goals are more easily accomplished among young people, short-term goals and immediate recognitions are also beneficial for them. Teachers and parents should assistant them to find their potential and interests rather than just set a goal for them.